knitdds: thoughts on knitting, food, life











{May 24, 2007}   Zal Collins Richardson born 5/15/2007 @ 7:46 AM

Lord help us, he came early. 🙂

Well, apparently my wee small boy was ready to see the world before I figured he’d be ready, he showed up nearly 2 1/2 weeks early to find mom and dad a bit surprised (but obviously totally pleased) and grandparents ridiculously thrilled.  He weighed in at 5 lbs 11 oz, 19 inches long. Yep, tiny. As knitmongrel enjoyed pointing out before he arrived, he’s chihuaha-sized. (I actually think he might be smaller than some).  His eyes are still that indeterminate slate-blue color that could mean they’ll end up brown or blue (I’m hoping for blue like his daddy), and he came with a FULL head of hair on him, all of which is ridiculously soft and tends to end up all spiky and funny.

He’s sleeping sweetly in a sling on my chest right now which is the only reason I can post to you all. As for all my lovely knit goodies. . .someday darlings, some day!! At this point I’ll almost have to wait until they all fit him and have him model. Of course nothing fits him at the moment in any case. . .all our “newborn” and “0-3 month” onesies are too big! Whoevah woulda thunk it?

 Not much to say except to leave you with another couple of pictures, these from yesterday (his one-week birthday). . .he makes the BEST faces.

meg says:

omg!!! yayayyayayayay! look at those facial expressions. just.too.much.

congrats to you all. so exciting. i can’t wait to hear and see more.

xoxoxo to the wee one.



elanknits says:

Congrats, wonderful that he arrived a little early, I love the unfocused look.



Yay! I can finally post about him on my blog! I’ve been wanting to squee about it all week! 🙂 Needless to say, I am so in love with your boy. Thanks for letting me indulge my adoration this afternoon, and anytime you need me… you know where I’ll be. Oh yeah. In Colorado. 🙂 Love to A.



Arleta says:

Congrats! He’s a doll!



Karen B. says:

`Oh, good Lord! Baby-baby-baby’s here! And healthy and everything! Welcome to the world young man :o)



Awww! Congratulations! He’s adorable!



BethC says:

What a beautiful little guy!! Many many congratulations!! Well done.



jupiterjessica says:

Aw, he is too cute! He was born two days before my little niece. Congratulations!! I love the name. Don’t worry, he’ll outgrow those newborn and 0-3 months before you know it! 😀



Batty says:

Congratulations!



Zonda says:

So cute! Congratulations!! All I can say, at least he wasn’t 2 weeks late like mine!



Jen says:

Congrats! He is gorgeous!! Lots of stores now cary preemie size clothes, but it won’t take long for him to grow right out of those…..(both my kids were early)….enjoy your sweet, sweet angel.



Hard to believe something so little can smell so bad, huh? Good thing he’s so gorgeous to make up for it! What a cutie pie! As a mother of teenage three boys I can tell you that they smell worse every year!



Leave a Reply

et cetera
