knitdds: thoughts on knitting, food, life











{January 17, 2007}   My third cast on in as many weeks. . .

Okay. I’m feeling pretty cool. Since the new year, I have officially cast on 3 projects, and I’ve finished 2 of them already! One is the previously mentioned calorimetry head scarf for the lovely knitmongrel (which looks SO cute on her, wait until you see the pictures!). The second is the potato chip scarf from Knitpicks, another project enabled by knitmongrel who gave me her leftover suri dream so I could knit something for my momma’s birthday (which again, I’m missing a picture for), and the third is my abbreviated version of the bobble blue scarf by the fabulous Karen B of  Yarn Is My Metier, which I modified to have far fewer bobbles because it’s for my grandfather-in-law’s 90th birthday and the bobbles make the scarf look much more feminine. Wait’ll you see the yarn for this scarf, it’s Misti Alpaca chunky in a luscious dark brown, to match my grandad-in-law’s cute winter coat that’s tan with a dark brown fur collar. I better remember to take pictures.

Now, we’re headed to Iowa this weekend for the big 90th birthday celebration, and I better get rocking on that scarf, since I’m only halfway through the 1st half!

Leave a Reply

et cetera
