knitdds: thoughts on knitting, food, life











{October 5, 2006}   First blog questionnaire!

Some days, I feel like I’m just getting the hang of this blog thing. Today is a day when I could have woken up extra early and worked out, then headed to my appointment, but I woke up so sore and tired that it was just not happening. So here I am for your reading pleasure!!

Lolly was nice enough to post a blog questionnaire, and I was reading through answers on Grumperina and KnitMongrel‘s pages, when it hit me. . .I too, could answer. So without further adieu,

  • When did you start making socks? Did you teach yourself or were you taught by a friend or relative? or in a class?

I am in the process of finishing my very first pair of socks, on Lorna’s Laces Shepherd Worsted and #7’s, for a dear friend. Started oh, a month ago. The pattern is from the Knitty Gritty show on DIY, which my friend had kept on her TiVo for the express purpose of my learning how to make these socks. The instructions online are so clear and accurate that frankly, it was easy to teach myself and to knit the socks. (Plus the yarn really rocks.)

  • What was your first pair?  How have they “held up” over time?

Um, I’ll let you know?

  • What would you have done differently?

I already didn’t like how pointy the toe came out from this pattern. I think I definitely prefer a more rounded toe. . .I understand that had I made the foot a bit longer and done my decreases every round instead of every other, it might have looked more rounded.

  • What yarns have you particularly enjoyed?

I can’t WAIT to make my Great Adirondack “Soxie” yarn into some stunning socks. I swatched it up for my socktoberfest socks and had to hold back the drool. I have received many recommendations to try Grumperina’s Jaywalker pattern, so I think I’ll get started on those today (even though the interminable baby blanket is STILL not finished).

  • Do you like to crochet your socks? or knit them on DPNs, 2 circulars, or using the Magic Loop method?

Ha. I’m a dpn kind of girl. Circulars scare the heck out of me, and once I saw a tutorial on knitty for knitting 2 socks at the same time? Petrified. The ones I’m using now, though, would be perfect for picking cigarette ashes out of Dolores’ teeth. Crochet? Not unless you make me, and then certainly not well.

  • Which kind of heel do you prefer?  (flap? or short-row?)

(sung to the tune of Tori Amos’ song “Cornflake Girl”) Never made a short row heel. . . thought it was a good solution. . .

  • How many pairs have you made?

Um, one, still in progress. Do baby booties count? I guess not, cause those were seamed.  I’m such a baby compared to most of you lovely folks online. Oh well.

Happy sock knitting, everyone!

Suni says:

Check out http://www.knitty.com/ISSUEwinter05/PATTpomatomus.html – I think this is a cool pattern and would work really well with your lovely new sock yarn.



Suni says:

Check out http://www.knitty.com/ISSUEwinter05/PATTpomatomus.html – I think this is a cool pattern and would work really well with your lovely new sock yarn. It might be a bit complicated, but I’m sure you can do it! Then you can show me how to do it! 🙂



You kill me. Cornflake Girl? How about this one: “Look I’m standing naked before you… better make me some socks so my feet aren’t cold…” 🙂 Good luck with those Jaywalkers, and have SO much fun this weekend!



heatherly says:

hi, sp9 hostess here. trying to get further info. we have no email, name etc… please email me ASAP



Leave a Reply

et cetera
