knitdds: thoughts on knitting, food, life











{September 14, 2006}   Playing with my balls

 Couldn’t resist this as a title for my first knitting post EVER. Credits go to KnitMongrel for the inspiration 😎 As a baby blogger, I’ve got a lot to learn to get pictures up of knitting, and maybe someday other things that inspire me (um, mostly, like food). . .so be patient while the blog undergoes construction. . .oh, and I do have so many lovely balls of yarn to play with, I’ll have to get some decent pictures of the stash up.

Currently on the needles, a baby blanket with gorgeous hand dyed wool from ewephoria yarns (the yarn still makes me happy, the actual pattern is killing me softly), and lovely, lovely socks from the Karen Baumer episode of “Knitty Gritty” using Lorna’s Laces Sheperd Worsted, in River. . .so lovely! This is my first ever attempt at socks, and surprisingly a no-mess introduction into the sock underworld. KnitMongrel claims that now, I’ll be obsessed with socks. I better be, I just bought a whole huge skein of sock yarn that I have to knit on #1’s. . .Oh, and I recently finished some ridiculously adorable booties, which are going to my friend Pete’s new baby, and a scarf which was supposed to be my mom’s 60th birthday present (uh, the actual birthday was in January, but she’s officially “celebrating” it this weekend, so I’m not really that late, right?)

 That said, perhaps now is bedtime. Because, in his ever-continuing quest to improve my life, the Husband has decreed that tomorrow is a day to go swimming. Here’s what you need to know about my husband in nutshell. #1. Biggest geek, ever. Which I completely adore him for. #2. A bit of a snob. But then, so am I. I figure, it’s not snobbery, I just know what’s nice and what’s not. Ha. #3. He’s currently functioning (above and beyond the usual husbandly duties like making me coffee in the AM and Yay!doing dishes!) in the role of my personal trainer. Which means that since this summer began, we have been working out together, and I curse him out for making me run and work out, while he is sweet and encouraging THE ENTIRE TIME. I’m not sure how this works out as a good deal for him, but he’s kept it up the entire summer without complaint, and I do feel a bit lighter on my feet as a result. Most of the time, I feel lucky to have him. . .because really, without him, I certainly wouldn’t bother. But tomorrow, seeing as how I’m sitting up all night doing my first blog post and trying really hard to upload pictures. . .well, I just better get my crap together and hit the hay.

Hi, this is a comment.
To delete a comment, just log in, and view the posts’ comments, there you will have the option to edit or delete them.



Leave a Reply

et cetera
